Life Lately

After my last post it has been way too quiet on the blog. The same can’t be said for my “real” life.

Let’s catch up!

Finishing the Well I am Challenge became my main focus, and let’s face it, nobody wants to read about bland chicken and broccoli. Dieting was strict and my training programme became even tougher. The challenge came to an end on 16 June 2016, on Youth day. I thought it was quite an apt day to have the challenge finish on a day where we celebrate the youth of our country. Although I am still classified as a youth or a millennial, being only 25, I didn’t feel like a young mommy. I went from muffin top to almost mean abs, from lethargic all day to Duracell bunny. If it wasn’t for the support of my husband in the final days, which competed in IFBB for close to 10 years, I don’t think I would have made it. He stuck it out through my hangry moods and sore muscles and even patiently took my after photos if I didn’t think they looked good enough. I love my husband dearly, and the patience he has exuded during the challenge was admirable. So a shout out to my wonderful husband for keeping the balance in our house, bathing the girls on the nights that I went to gym, gave sound advice and kept me from cheating on my diet. You allowed me to find myself again, and I am glad that the old me is back as a new and improved version.

The finalists were announced on 27 June, which was a day of total torture! I was stalking the Well I am Facebook Page like a pro. I can safely say that when I went onto the page at around 08:00 there was 13504 likes on the page. At my very last look the likes had gone up to 13514 (and it has increased to 13990 during the course of the week!) During this last check-in, I was actually finishing up my ab training for the day and then I saw the photo. At first I thought nah, can’t be. I was one of the finalists and out of pure joy and excitement I burst out crying in the gym (I’m that person) and then I phoned my husband to tell him about the news.

 If you would like to give support to the 12 Female and 7 Male Finalists, please go and have a look on the official Well I Am Facebook page and give someone a like or comment. These men and ladies have gone through some remarkable transformations, even the ones who did not make it to the finals.

The Grand Prize winners will be announced on 5 July 2016! Good luck to each and every challenger, all the best.

Mothersday and Fathersday also happened since my last post and I will be posting about these two events as well in the course of the new week. I received the nicest Foodie Box from Date Factory for Mothersday, and I will be giving a review on the box. On Fathersday we had a whole Dads weekend celebrating the husband, with some “tourist” type travelling and exploring our vibrant city.

I don’t have many other predictions for the coming month, one little long weekend away to Mpumalanga for the Jock Classic, which the husband is training hard for at the moment.

Keep warm and keep healthy.

Author: webecameblog

Blogging about the realities of raising two girls. Apart from being a mommy, I am also a wife to a husband that is married to his bike. I am sarcastic, I say the F-word way too much and I have road rage. I am real and I hate sugar coating things.

Leave a Reply

