On my third Mothersday

image

I am a member of a very popular Facebook Mommy group and yesterday made me so sad to even scroll through my newsfeed. The things I read was truly awful. I get that for a lot of women it is a platform to vent as most women can vouch that you lose a lot of friends when you fall pregnant.
Reading stories of husbands who won’t wish their own wives a Happy Mothersday but will walk up to their mom and wish them well. That’s crap and I feel deeply sorry for you, especially for a Mom who’s lost her own mom and it’s her first Mothersday without her mom. But as one lady aptly pointed out, Mothersday is supposed to be about colourful macaroni necklaces, handmade cards and tight hugs from your kids. If Mothersday is all about a gift for you, I think you’ve lost sight of what it really is about. You have birthdays and other occasions where the day is all about you.
Appreciate your children in that moment, the love and joy that they really bring you. Irrespective of the late nights of teething or aching tummies, the terrible tantrums. Because time flies, they won’t stay this small forever and then you’ll look back and regret that you sulked over a Mothersday present where you could have spent time making memories even if it was making French toast with your last four eggs and the cut offs from the loaf of bread in the cupboard.

I hope your Mothersday was spent with the people you love and that you truly felt appreciated.

Author: webecameblog

Blogging about the realities of raising two girls. Apart from being a mommy, I am also a wife to a husband that is married to his bike. I am sarcastic, I say the F-word way too much and I have road rage. I am real and I hate sugar coating things.

Leave a Reply

