The embarrassment of the terrible two’s (Part 2)

Let’s continue where I last left the original post. If you missed Part 1, you can have read here.

We are still stuck at this extreme tantrum stage. Look, I have come to realise that at the age of two it is very difficult to verbalise and explain the emotions that you are experiencing at that point in time or the irritation that you feel of not having the same cup for juice as daycare, but it does not make my two year old’s emotions any less than when I get upset about something. Therefore the tantrum if mommy or daddy cannot understand what “aguila aguila” means or why the pizza isn’t green, is bound to happen. Don’t ask about green pizza’s though, I can confirm that luckily it isn’t mould ridden food.

Our trip to Cape Town, actually went surprisingly smooth. Tatum and Tanielle were both absolute dream children on the aeroplane. So much so, that we even got a compliment from a fellow passenger. Yeah us! But that was short lived until the Friday after our annual photoshoot. Tatum was fine during the photoshoot, the proverbial disaster hit when she wanted something in the display at the tills (once more all stores, PLEASE take a leaf from other stores and remove your sweets from the queue at the tills) and it all went downhill from there. Resulting in a 20 minute meltdown that felt closer to eternity. Nothing, absolutely nothing calmed Tatum down and the only thing I could do was to let her have her meltdown. From a lot of research and reading, one of the tips to tame tantrums was to set boundaries. Believe me when I say Tatum knows her boundaries, she can recite them very quickly for you depending on the situation. Even that tip flew out of the window. Showing her kindness and love also wasn’t working as she pushed my husband as well as me away from her and turned into a green, angry Marvel character. I went into survival mode and just ignored her tantrum. Judge away all you want, the people in the queue already did. So for you judgmentals  that were standing in that queue with your stupid remarks, don’t you dare infringe your parenting advice on me. What works for me as a parent and my children might not be applicable to you, but it is to me. And then to the judgmentals with no children who gave me “the look” you out of all people do not dare judge if you do not have children of your own. Remember me the day your children do exactly the same thing.

Unfortunately, the terrible two’s have been trial and error for my husband and I. Therefore I can’t even give meaningful advice on this subject, but hopefully the universe will spare us the same fate with Tanielle when she becomes “of age” (well here’s hoping). So for now, we will just have to bite the bullet and suck each and every meltdown up.

Author: webecameblog

Blogging about the realities of raising two girls. Apart from being a mommy, I am also a wife to a husband that is married to his bike. I am sarcastic, I say the F-word way too much and I have road rage. I am real and I hate sugar coating things.

Leave a Reply

