Keeping the kids busy – Homemade clay

I’ll admit this much, after a long week at work all I really want to do is be lazy in my pajamas and forget that I actually have something like chores that need to be done. Well, when you have kids you can forget about it. Unfortunately we are not in the position where we have a close enough support system in Johannesburg to look after our kids for a little breather.So all entertainment and babysitting is left up to my husband and I.

For Valentine’s day the girls and I spent the morning at home, because husband was racing the Dis-Chem Ride for Sight Super Classic. Tatum woke up in a fine mood and the plan was for us to finish all shopping and chores before G gets home. However, that was merely a plan and it quickly fell through. The girls then had their breakfast and morning nap, and I decided to start drafting a few blog posts.

So this is what we did…

We made homemade, edible clay. I have got no idea how much you have to consume in order for it to make a little person sick. But I can confirm that Tanielle did have a few bites and she did not have diarrhea or vomiting.

Recipe:

1 Cup All Purpose Flour

1/2 Cup Table Salt

1 Cup Water

2 Tablespoons Cream of Tartar

1 Tablespoon Canola Oil

Ingredients.jpg

Method:

  1. Mix all the ingredients together in a pot over medium heat. It will resemble smooth cake batter once everything is mixed together.Stage 1
  2. Cook over medium heat until the clay starts coming together. The recipe states that it will become a ball, however, mine didn’t. It looked almost as if the clay was starting to harden and form crusty bits.Stage 2
  3. Scoop the clay out onto a baking sheet or cutting board and leave for 5 minutes to cool down. Once cooled down, knead the clay until it becomes a smoother.
  4. Add food colouring or glitter to the dough and knead until colour is thoroughly mixed into the clay.
  5. Give to the kiddies to shape and mould!

 

Tips:

If you do not want your hands to look like you gave a Smurf a happy ending, please wear latex gloves.

Keep all food colouring out of reach from little ones sitting in the Bumbo chair, Tanielle looked like a vampire after getting hold of the red colouring.

Store the clay in an airtight container and it will keep for a week or two.

 

 

Author: webecameblog

Blogging about the realities of raising two girls. Apart from being a mommy, I am also a wife to a husband that is married to his bike. I am sarcastic, I say the F-word way too much and I have road rage. I am real and I hate sugar coating things.

Leave a Reply

